noun | \ ˈkä-mən-ˌwelth \ | com·mon·wealth
  1. a : one founded on law and united by compact or tacit agreement by the people for the common good

    b : one in which supreme authority is vested in the people

    c : republic

  1. : a state of the U.S. —used officially of Kentucky, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, and Virginia

  1. : an association of self-governing autonomous states more or less loosely associated in a common allegiance (as to the British crown)

  1. : a political unit having local autonomy but voluntarily united with the U.S. —used officially of Puerto Rico and the Northern Mariana Islands